Project 1: Bedroom Paint Options

February 13, 2007 at 3:46 pm 6 comments

We’re going to have one weekend before the move in which we’ll be able to get to the house and paint a few rooms. I think the last time I painted a room was…never, so I’d planned on us just doing 2 rooms to start: our bedroom and the office. The other reason is that we have barely any furniture that we’re going to use in main rooms (due to our present tiny living space, a lot of our current stuff is Ikea miniature type things like a really really small sofa) and the furniture that we will have are pieces that will go in the bedroom and office, so why not get them out of the way first? Plus, you need a cozy bedroom. So, we’ll start with that first.

Here is the current state of the bedroom (if you could see all the pics we took while looking at houses, you’d see an awful lot of me looking into closets. I have a lot of shoes):

DSCN1230.JPG

DSCN1235.JPG

The room is a good size, which I’m psyched about (though the closet space is minimal), but the paint. The paint hurts my eyes. I’m just not a seafoam kind of girl. I think that’s seafoam anyway. What I’d really like, is a cozy oaisis/retreat vibe using a blue that will look good with dark brown/chocolate furnishings. I’m looking at something like this for the bed frame/headboard:

snipshot_b21edae92mu0

Part of me wants a smoky/greyish blue and another part wants to just go all out with a deep blue since the room is big enough to take it. Domino magazine actually had a blue that I loved on page 35 in the February issue, but I don’t think it’s online. They did identify the paint, but it’s by some LA-based company and I’d have to order it to be shipped etc. and I’d much rather be able to get a sample pot to try from Benjamin Moore or something. I did like this color from Benjamin Moore:

oldbluejeans

I’m certainly open to (and need) suggestions. I’d also love any paint store recommendations. I did go to the Janovic on 3rd Ave (UES) here in the city, but it wasn’t the most helpful experience. Maybe they were having an off day.

I’m not crazy about the carpet in the bedroom either, but that will need to wait.

Entry filed under: Decorating, Master bedroom, Paints.

First entry, whee! I’m 12

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  February 14, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    I really like the blue. It has that sort of cool quality. And will look good with the brown. Another (wacky) suggestion is if you do some sort of orange. Which sounds weird, but like a deep brownish-orangey type thing. My friend has that in her apartment, and it looks really good. Surprisingly good.

    Then again, I’m not sure how well it goes with brown.

    And honestly? That first set of pics I thought were how you chose to decorate your bedroom. Because I got confused. And then I was like “but wait, I can’t imagine she’d like that at all. It’s so not her!” So I’m relieved to see that is the case.

    Don’t mind the crack over here…

    Reply
  • 2. designnoob  |  February 14, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    Well, actually, I’m thinking of using orange in the living room on an accent wall. I LOVE orange on walls.

    Hah, I was wondering if anyone would think that was how I’d decorated it. I’m definitely not the old school quilt type.

    Reply
  • 3. Strega  |  February 16, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    Hey! You have the same brownish-carpet problem I do in my bedroom.

    Anyway… I do recommend playing with Behr’s site if you have time. Even if you don’t use their paint, it’s a nice little tool that shows you coordinating colors and etc. And you can order samples! That come with itty-bitty rollers! Whee! I love paint samples.

    http://www.behr.com/behrx/workbook/

    Reply
  • 4. designnoob  |  February 18, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Oh, nice! I love online paint tools, thank you!

    Reply
  • 5. Can’t Find A Better Bed « {design no0b}  |  February 20, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    […] feeling some intense pressure to decide on a bed, like, NOW. As I said, we’re planning on a blue paint and I’d like a dark, low bed. Originally, we were strongly considering this one from West […]

    Reply
  • 6. recliner sofa  |  June 2, 2014 at 2:43 pm

    Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really
    make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your
    design. Many thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Bookmark

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

