Can’t Find A Better Bed

February 20, 2007 at 10:37 pm 11 comments

Sometimes I like to take phrases and sing them to the tune of Pearl Jam’s “Better Man”. Weird or just catchy? I vote for both.

I’m feeling some intense pressure to decide on a bed, like, NOW. As I said, we’re planning on a blue paint and I’d like a dark, low bed. Originally, we were strongly considering this one from West Elm:

but then I started to read some not so good reviews of West Elm beds — the quality is not great and they seem to have issues staying together during, um, extracurricular activities. So..I started looking at other options.

Option 1:
bisect bed
I like the Bisect bed a lot. It’s probably my favorite right now. It’s low, though not a platform bed. It’s a nice dark color and it has clean lines. The only problem is that there’s no CB2 in NYC and I hate not being able to see things in person before I buy them.

Option 2:
loop
The Loop bed from Crate and Barrel is okay, but there’s something about the wood grain pattern that bothers me.

Option 3:
zen
Another Crate and Barrel. This one is steel, so it’s a move away from the chocolate wood, but the color is pretty dark in person and I do like the pattern. It would be more annoying to find other bedroom furniture to go with it though. I’m not into the light wood that they have paired with it.

Option 4:
malm
Malm bed from Ikea. Of course, it’s cheeeeap, which is nice. But, this is the darkest color available. Apparently there is some rare brown/black that was available in limited distribution for a while, but no one seems to know when or if it will ever be available again. Foiled!

Feel free to throw any other bed frame suggestions my way. I’m getting desperate.

Entry filed under: Decorating, Master bedroom.

I’m 12 Bed Fiesta

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. karen  |  February 21, 2007 at 12:26 am

    I like one or two. Despite the wood grain, I really like two for some reason. I like the dark wood finish, so that makes me anti-four. But I really like all of these beds.

    Reply
  • 2. susan  |  February 21, 2007 at 4:47 am

    Oh, I’m glad I found this blog. I bought a bed like one of those 2 yeras ago in Room and Board. What we didn’t realize until it was too late, was that REGARDLESS of how wonderful a matress is that you buy, the bed will not be comfortable because many of these beds are made with solid, unmovable, framing pieces of wood as part of the frame, under the mattress, making the bed very firm. We never took the bed back because we thought it was the mattress, but it wasn’t.

    There ARE beds made with flexible slats which serve the function of a box spring….support but with flexibility. With zero flexibility, the mattress does not matter. It feels firm. Here’s what I mean, something like this concept, in fact, exactly this concept:

    http://www.axelbloom.com/silverstar_s.html

    In our case, my husband will be cutting into the framing, removing it, and replacing the framing with a slatted system. It’s so uncomfortable right now. Salespeople selling these beds have no clue or interest in how comfortable they are or aren’t, just how good looking the bed frame is, so don’t look to them for advice! If you really want to drive yourself crazy, go to whatsthebest-mattress.com .

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 3. Sharon  |  February 22, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    ooo, I definitely like option #2. I know what you mean about buying something before you see it in person though… Stay tuned for more bed frame suggestions!

    Reply
  • 4. designnoob  |  February 22, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    Hmm…interesting, Susan, I’ll check it out — thanks!

    Karen and Sharon, I’m really leaning toward #2 as well. I just can’t get past the lighter color on the Ikea bed.

    Reply
  • 5. Better than a mattress on the floor « {design no0b}  |  April 9, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    […] pleased to see that they had the Malm bed in the elusive black-brown color. That’s what I had wanted originally (it’s option 4, but not in that color), but I’d heard that it was near impossible to […]

    Reply
  • 6. Tim  |  April 22, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    I just bought the Malm bed frame in Black/brown. Seems as though they have a bunch in Stoughton, MA location.

    Reply
  • 7. My Home Improvement Portal  |  August 17, 2007 at 5:36 am

    Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

    Reply
  • 8. Richard  |  July 16, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    Hey,

    I just found this, i’m looking at the loop bed from crate and barrel…only thing is that i need to have 8 inches of clearn from the bottom of the bed to the floor…i have those plastic storage bins.

    What bed did you go with?

    Reply
  • 9. Imelda Cronin  |  May 28, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Really awesome writing! Honest!

    Reply
  • 10. Ginger Brandt  |  June 1, 2010 at 6:27 am

    If I had a nickel for each time I came here… Great article.

    Reply
  • 11. SeattleBee  |  September 3, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    I’ts disappointing to have this Malm bed frame. check craigstlist and you will find out more and more people sell theirs (malm bed is not mentioned but u can see the wood and frame that is definitely a MALM). not recommnended!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Bookmark

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

