Better than a mattress on the floor

April 10, 2007 at 5:14 am 8 comments

We finally moved into the house last Friday. I believe I got to the house at about 5am. I then waited for my parents to get there while my husband drove back to the city to wait for the movers. I tried, valiantly, to sleep on the floor upstairs while I waited but my cat wasn’t having it. She spent the next two hours howling at me and trying to shake the doors open. I should have taken that as a sign. Moving? Not fun. Hard. Very hard. Some day soon I’ll be able to talk about the layers upon layers of contact paper that I removed from the kitchen, but today is not that day. Instead, I’ll talk about the bedroom.

For the first two nights we were here, we slept on a mattress on the floor downstairs. You’d think it wouldn’t be all that cozy, but I guess when you’re that tired you can sleep anywhere. We finally ended up making our first trip to Ikea (we would make many, many, SO many more in the next week — thanks for not telling us WHAT PIECES WE REALLY NEEDED, IKEA!). Anyway, I was very pleased to see that they had the Malm bed in the elusive black-brown color. That’s what I had wanted originally (it’s option 4, but not in that color), but I’d heard that it was near impossible to find in that color anymore. If you found it, you were lucky. Luck was with us that day, because there it was! By the way, explaining Ikea to the uninitiated is next to impossible. No matter how much I had tried to brace my mother for the Ikea experience, nothing could have prepared her. I thought she would just drop dead when we entered the warehouse at the end. Even though I had warned her about how long it can take to make your way through, she kept repeating “how do we get out of here?”

After many days of putting together Ikea bedroom furniture (I think my husband could enter an Ikea-building contest. He built a drawer in 4 minutes — I timed him) we were able to make the leap from the mattress on the floor, to a mattress in an actual bed frame. Well, after a few more trips back to Ikea. If you ever buy an Ikea bed, be warned — you need a midbeam (they call it a hammar) and a slatted bed (if it’s a platform bed). Now, maybe this is something your average person knows? I wouldn’t think so, though, judging by the amount of glassy-eyed people crowded around the midbeams in the warehouse when I finally went back for it. I’ll skip over the part where I insisted that we should also use the box spring resulting in our struggling to get it through our archways and up the stairs for over an hour, realizing it looked ridiculous and that all our pushing and prodding had basically rendered it useless anyway and then consequently destroying it with a saw and hammer before bringing it back down and out to the trash pile. It’s something I’d really rather forget, frankly.

So, here it is with the bed and one of the dressers. I really can’t stand the way the blue wall color shows up in my pictures. It’s actually a much softer blue than this, but the images show it as being quite bright:
bedroomempty.JPG

As you can see, we have absolutely nothing on the walls yet. We don’t even have our new blinds up, but there are only so many hours in the day and this is a start. The little light is one of two pretty lantern lights that we got at Ikea. They’re kind of similar to these as far as the glow they give off. You can’t tell by my ultra-bright pic, sadly. In reality, there’s actually very little light in the room right now — just two of these little lights.
The color of the walls is probably closer to the blue on the left side of the window here:
bedroomempty2.JPG

The bedding is from CB2 and has a similar vibe to the one I loved from Greener Grass Design. It’s very cozy. My cat finds it irresistible.

Entry filed under: Bedding, Master bedroom, Paints.

You’ll want it to look perfect, but it ain’t

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane Swanleigh  |  July 18, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    I too left Ikea without the essential hammar. I however live 5 hours from Ikea and will have relatively few opportunities to acquire said hammar. So instead of a mattress on the floor, my son now sleeps on a mattress on the floor within a Malm bedframe. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Amanda  |  August 13, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    I got the black-brown!! I wonder why they dont advertise it. I also got the same side tables as above. Have not put it together yet, but sooo excited!

    Reply
  • 3. daily  |  December 2, 2007 at 9:22 am

    I was searching for this kind of a blog for months now. Actually lost the hope of finding one, but here i am 🙂 Thanks for the great articles! Looking forward for a little read after dinner 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Remand  |  June 19, 2008 at 3:56 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Remand.

    Reply
  • 5. andrea  |  February 2, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    i would love to know what you thought of the quality of the ikea bed. I’ve had ikea furniture before and swore never again. It was a cork board material, that was pretty lame. If you like the quality though I’d be willing to give it a second try.

    Reply
  • 6. Sarah  |  July 24, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    I’m looking into a Malm bed too, for my new apartment. How do you find it, without a box spring?

    And I love the duvet cover, where’s it from?

    Cheers.

    Reply
  • 7. Bedroom Design  |  July 5, 2011 at 7:42 am

    Moving is a very hard process, and that bed looks great.

    Reply
  • 8. Ian  |  January 17, 2015 at 2:08 pm

    Hi webmaster do you need unlimited articles for your blog ?
    What if you could copy post from other pages, make it unique and publish on your site – i know the right
    tool for you, just search in google:
    Ziakdra’s article tool

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Bookmark

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

